top of page

Saturday


Saturday used to be pancake day. Nowadays it's more like get up and try to survive day. I haven't made biscuits for over a year either, but if I keep bringing the picture up...you never know.


This Saturday is a mellow day. The temperature is pleasant although it has a sense that it could rain sometime today. There is no real panic, but today the Westphal boys are planning on putting shingles on the youngest brother's (Young Fuzzy) what he calls a shack. They have 3/4 of the 'tear-off' on one side done so that much is accomplished. Young Fuzzy's property has a house about an early 1900s vintage, but it has no basement. It had been empty for a bit and varmints began to want to occupy the house. Eventually, it came down to an invasion of rats that they have gotten rid of at present but it needs a basement in order to safeguard against any return of varmints. So, he is in the process of fixing up a small outbuilding.


Grandpa (Old Fuzzy) and Gramme (the little old woman just trying to get along) are planning a lunch of chicken and rice, gravy, pinto beans and burger on old-fashioned buns, whatever veggies come to hand, and cake.


My wix site is changing and I'm not sure how it will work, or how I'm going to work with it. I try to share some of what is going on in our life here in the middle of nowhere as well as encouragement and often try to give a bit of humor, but I don't write for people with a ten-second attention span. Apparently, that gives writing judges many moments of angst, and I don't do well when these judges start shouting that they don't like my writing. I'm laughing kind of here, but maybe not. So, as they used to say in radioland, stay tuned and I'll try to keep everyone informed as to what is going on.


Ecclesiastes 10:

1) "Dead flies cause the ointment of the apothecary to send forth a stinking savour: so doth a little folly him that is in reputation for wisdom and honour.

2) A wise man's heart is at his right hand; but a fool's heart at his left."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page