top of page

How long wilt thou sleep...?


Imagine beginning your Bible reading with that scripture. I'm thinking as I look at those words, "Well, you don't have to be rude."

Proverbs 6:9 "How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep?"

So, I got up and got busy, or at least tried. Another scripture that my Bible used to automatically open to was Proverbs 14:1 "Every wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands."

And it wasn't just an occasional open to that scripture it was constant. So, I took heart and was careful not to pluck my house down. Since I've struggled to get well after last year's health battle the sleep thing has been a fine line. In order to heal there must be a balance between rest and work, not to mention that the term work is used loosely.

Some have suggested they have had a frustrating year with all of the set backs and this is understandable. We do need to be watchful that we don't get bogged down by all of the things we didn't get done that we lose sight of the things we have gotten done.

When I used to make a list of the to do things for the day, often carrying bigger projects over from day to day/week to week, I could see the things I finished. Then there were the days when I had a list and the day went sideways. In order to make sense of it all I made up a new list with the things I had to do to make it through the day. It may have originally read: laundry, clothes on line, ironing...and turned into: hospital, pharmacy, home, or emergency machinery parts run, pick up a new tire run, or likewise run with little to nothing to show for it. And so I rewrite the list to reflect that I did indeed do something, just not what I intended.

Maybe a better practice then would be to make a list of real priorities. Things that are important: spend time with family playing games (card games, board games, sports games if you're a sports person etc.), make time for friends, send cards, emails and letters. Don't let this sickness turn our lives into something unreal. Instead of just a To Do list also make a Have Done list and don't limit it to only the large things that have been done.

Accept that things didn’t happen. "Your To Do list is written on paper, not stone" was written by someone smarter than I and it's true. Sometimes the sweetest words are, "today I thought about you, and I said a prayer on your behalf. God bless and take care."

1 Corinthians 3:

13) Every man's work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man's work of what sort it is. 14) If any man's work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward. 15) If any man's work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page