top of page

The Good News Is


When you're rowing your own boat you are responsible for your own direction...

unless you're like me and don't know how to row a boat.

Have you ever made a good choice? A bad choice? A somewhat okay choice (that could be an either or choice?)? One year on our way home from my uncle and aunt's house it was dark and must have been close to my bedtime, my mother was driving us home to my grandparent's farm about thirty miles away. I don't know who all was in the car, at least my sister and I, maybe Coco another cousin, we came to the end of our gravel road at the pavement. We had to make a decision turn right or left.

As I said it was dark and no signs, and I was so certain we should go left. Someone else in the car said right, but I insisted it was left. It was late enough by the time we realized we should have gone right I was asleep. It was ten miles out of our way, and then ten miles back. I don't remember ever being scolded for being wrong, but I've never erroneously taken that turn wrong again.

One thing we can learn from that incident is be careful when you are taking advice from a seven year old. On the other side of the coin always weigh advice carefully no matter who it's from. Sometimes, as the scriptures say "out of the mouth of babes" you get not only advice but Godly wisdom. Young children don't know enough about adult dishonesty and all of it's nuances to play our games.

Job 32:

9) Great men are not always wise: neither do the aged understand judgment. 10) Therefore I said, Hearken to me; I also will shew mine opinion. 11) Behold, I waited for your words; I gave ear to your reasons, whilst ye searched out what to say.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page