top of page

Control


So, I became the mean mom trying to keep children from growing up to be naughty adults, or at least to keep people from labeling my children as brats.

Under some circumstances it was okay to use the, Because I said so reason, because it was mom and dad's buttons we didn't want to push. Sometimes it would have been good to think the rule in question through and give a purpose instead.

I think I did on occasion give some reasons but I'm sure I didn't give enough. We don't run screaming when there is nothing wrong because no will pay attention when there is an emergency if that's the way you act always. Screaming causes other's at least momentary angst. Then there are other things that appear neither right nor wrong.

This may be an interesting thought but when we began attending the school of preaching the dress code was, no inappropriate clothing and that included no shorts and no mixed swimming. My husband and I had grown up in secular families, or at least homes where we thought nothing of either of these ideas. As we grew in our walk with the Lord we had learning and growing that needed to take place.

I don't know if our kids ever really hankered to wear shorts, but they didn't wear them. Sometimes depending on what they were working on or in they would roll their pants legs up mid-calf. As odd as it sounds in this day and age some of them honor their parents by carrying it into their own families. What difference does it make? I don't believe all shorts are in themselves evil, even though I don't wear them. Nor do I believe the evil in shorts is all in the eye of the beholder.

A person needs standards and who sets our standards? Do we use God's standards or secular standards? There are literally no standards in the secular world. Anything from caprice pants to showing the buttcheeks works out there. But I'm a believer in Christ and I want to reflect His glory not bring attention to my body.

Some of my fellow church members have used a passage in Exodus as God's standards.

"And thou shalt make them linen breeches to cover their nakedness; from the loins even unto the thighs they shall reach:" (Exodus 28:42 KJV)

I don't know if this ought to be sited as God's standards for our outer wear when this was the underwear for under the priests' robes and garments. Personally I prefer my dress/skirt length be of mid- calf or just above the ankle. I have worn that length especially after a man at church commented when I wore a skirt length a couple of inches below the knee. He liked the shorter length, he said so he could look at my legs. That still embarrasses me, although it didn't seem to bother him.

"But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:" (1 Peter 3:15 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page