top of page

Power of Encouragement


Today began as a squirrel day. One that I wasn't sure of what or how to share with someone else.

I'm finally getting back into a better habit of writing, although not at what I should be writing at. I haven't been doing much on my next book since the publishing of my first book, "If I Should Die".

I've been a bit more mellow since the ending of this month's course on "memoirs" in ACFW. I've used the idea of some of the stories from my mother's life and my journey in discovery. My Adorable Cousin is thinking I need to drop everything else and work on that memoir, but I won't. I've been delving into that subject ever since my mother died thirty-eight years ago and I'm still delving to this day.

Being mellow today I visited a daily blog that I haven't visited for some time. I very seldom come away from Edie Melson's, "The Write Conversation" without being enlightened in some way. Today was no different.

Her guest writer, Lori Hatcher, had a simple message of encouragement to us as writers but we all need encouragement and the message struck a cord. Most who visit my blog are not writers and Lori's message was "Who encouraged you to become a writer?" The response of her encourager was one that I struggle with—"Have I made a difference?"

A few years ago I came across a speaker and was so taken by his message that I followed him for awhile. He explained that he came to his epiphany moment after an accident. As he lay there he thought, "Have I really lived...have I made a difference?"

As I go through life sometimes I wonder if I really exist. Some of my courses in ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) my answers, questions, and responses don't come through. I don't know why, however they are treated (since they don't come through) as if they don't exist...because they don't.

I go to a doctor because of a health problem and I'm shuffled off as if I don't exist (and neither does my health concern). The doctor's response? I can give you a pain pill...and well, yes, I would like to get rid of the pain, but I'd prefer a cure for the problem? And what exactly did I miss here?

"Return, O LORD, how long? and let it repent thee concerning thy servants. O satisfy us early with thy mercy; that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. Make us glad according to the days wherein thou hast afflicted us, and the years wherein we have seen evil. Let thy work appear unto thy servants, and thy glory unto their children. And let the beauty of the LORD our God be upon us: and establish thou the work of our hands upon us; yea, the work of our hands establish thou it." (Psalms 90:13-17 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page