top of page

Let Me Count the Ways


The speaker that Sunday morning was expounding on the necessity of not thinking more highly of ourselves than we ought. We needed to remain humble...I whispered to my husband, "I'm so humble now I can't hardly stand it."

To which he whispered back, "I don't think that's the kind of humble he's talking about."

My husband, being the wise man that he is was right, but that's the way life goes. One day at a time. Some days are up and some aren't. I will never have to worry about the top four components of this meme. My life has dealt with being real and being strong even when I didn't want to be or think I could be.

What makes a day long? Or a week long? We can look around us and see what makes a year long. Many have said this year—2020—should be declared as over, finished, and done right now.

Monday I received the box of books that I have needed for two and a half months. I immediately packaged up the book for my dear friend who requested one two and a half months ago and sent it off the next morning. She received it three days later. Once again proving...life isn't always to the rich or the swift, or the whatnot.

My poor husband did seven quarts of green beans by himself but I did help cut the okra that he brought in. Since last September and the reaction to an antibiotic my hands and fingers don't work like they used to. I can snap beans but it is more difficult. Well, many things are more difficult but not impossible.

In my writers' group we've had the second assignment on our 'memoir' group. The submissions have been a bit sparse. I've made a submission both weeks and decided I was hogging all the attention, therefore maybe I would just back out and not make more submissions this month, when (as my grandmother used to say) 'lo and behold,' there were two comments about how they loved my subs and at least one gal was kind of following them.

So maybe I wasn't hogging all the attention, and I should continue. We did have a birthday this week, and I mixed up pie crust and hubby and I jointly made a peach pie. My aim is that my pie crust will be like the icing on a cake. Instead of throwing away the crust people will eat it as well because it's that good. Smile here.

"For all our days are passed away in thy wrath: we spend our years as a tale that is told. The days of our years are threescore years and ten; and if by reason of strength they be fourscore years, yet is their strength labour and sorrow; for it is soon cut off, and we fly away. Who knoweth the power of thine anger? even according to thy fear, so is thy wrath. So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom." (Psalms 90:9-12 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page