top of page

On A Star


I think it was Walt Disney that made the song "When I wish Upon A Star" popular. However, wishing wasn't invented by him or in that era. Whenever we saw a shooting star at night, my Grandmother would say, "Money, money, money, before the week is out".

And there is the old nursery rhyme, If Wishes were horses then beggars would ride. Or 'we'd all take a ride', which was the same difference for us.

In one scene in the Disney movie (was it Cinderella?) the young woman sobs, 'It's no use dreams never come true'.

Do wishes ever come true? What is the difference between a dream, a wish and a goal? Both a goal and a dream may begin as a wish, but if they are going to turn into a reality they usually need to move to a different level.

I may wish I had a banana split. That would require some effort on my part. Not as much as changing my situation in life, if I want to be a millionaire, or a doctor, or...

You get the picture. Some wishes take planning and dreaming to come true. And not all things happen the way we picture them—sometimes for better or worse.

Most people have watched the Christmas show, 'It's a Wonderful Life', and know how George Bailey always dreams of traveling, and how he gets sideswiped.

I saw a meme last week that said, 'I want to be the type of Christian that believes that God has a plan, even if I don't understand it.'

"And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God." (John 20:28 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page