top of page

If I Have Time


null

Yes, I know it's a redundant question, but how many times have you and I said, "If I have time, I'll..."?

And an even larger question—what's wrong with our world?

No one has time. Well, almost no one.

Old Fuzzy and I live in the middle of nowhere.

Our roads out here are mostly gravel roads.That tends to mean we either have three bedroom two bathroom potholes, or flat tires—at least one a day.

There are a couple of 'flat tires' mentioned in my novel. One illustrious editor wanna be told me it wasn't normal for people, mostly strangers, to stop and help people with flat tires, on top of the fact that I had too many (flat tires) in the story.

I don't live in New York or California, Texas or Massachusetts. I live in the Midwest. I tried to explain that to her, but she just got ugly about it.

I don't need ugly editors, especially ones who want paid and don't know what they are talking about.

Our county has been trying to head off the pothole scenario by putting gravel on the roads.Old Fuzzy says we've had six flat tires in ten days. Is that too many? Yes, but that's what we've had.

And as far as strangers helping people, I read that editor's comments to my daughter, and she laughed. "Just the other day I was on my way to town and had a flat," she said.

"I had just got out to look things over," (she was kind of in a hurry) "when some fellow pulled up behind me, got out, got the tire changing stuff and the tire out. He changed the tire, put everything back and left. I didn't know him and I still don't."

"To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace." (Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page