top of page

Wordsmith


A writer is a conjurer with words.

A picture is worth a thousand words we are told, but the more you study and work with words sometimes one word is worth a thousand pictures.

I don't write short stories—they're hard. I do strive to write more concise stories because they're better.

Concise, as in choosing the right word or words that cut down on the wordiness of a piece of writing.

An older friend of ours recently had an accident and as the 'health care professionals' were discussing her case (as if she weren't there) she became frustrated that she was out of their loop.

She told them, "I didn't fall on my head. I can still make my own decisions."

In the last six months I've sat as doctors have told me the same thing three times, and I wondered, "Do they think I didn't hear them the first time?"

However, I find that if I'm not careful I can be caught doing the same thing over again.

How important it is to say the right thing the right way and at the right time...and how difficult it is.

Often the best way is to remain simple. Keeping the important things important. No one is guaranteed tomorrow, so tell people who are important in your life they are important.

Don't forget, children aren't the only ones who need to hear 'I love you'.

That which is far off, and exceeding deep, who can find it out? I applied mine heart to know, and to search, and to seek out wisdom, and the reason of things, and to know the wickedness of folly, even of foolishness and madness: (Ecclesiastes 7:24-25 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page