top of page

I'll Take a Combo


You're at the fast food window, or sitting in a restaurant. What do you want?

When Old Fuzzy was a younger version fuzzy, we moved from our semi-secluded, middle of nowhere to Knoxville, Tennessee. In the late 1970s in our neck of the woods there were a few local places to eat, but we didn't frequent them often.

Fast food? That was when your mom slapped ham and cheese on bread, or you had to travel sixty miles to get something else. Unless, of course, you counted the local Dairy Queen type establishments as fast food.

So, we moved and it was a real struggle not to gain weight. There was a fast food establishment on every corner, and sometimes several in between.

The newness wore off, and eating out can be a drain on a budget, but...

Decisions, decisions. Where to eat, what to eat, and even when to eat?

Life is like a combo meal. In just one day we can go from exhilaration to tragedy and anywhere in between.

Some people enjoy the drama life. They want to be a star at the center of the universe. The phrase, 'The world's a stage, and we're all actors', was surely written for them.

Most people want a semi-quiet life with just enough spice to keep things moving. It may be a sight-seeing trip, a night at the car races, a ball game, or their favorite performer.

Back in early American times social life centered around going to church on Sunday, but they also played individual sports games, board games, had community activities such as husking bees, or quilting bees.

Often people believe that we have made so many inventions and come so far technically that we are better than earlier generations.

But whether you walk or ride a horse, drive a car, or ride in an airplane, human beings are still the same. Like the song, 'As Time Goes By' says:

"You must remember this, A kiss is just a kiss, A sigh is just a sigh.The fundamental things apply, As time goes by..."

Psalms 143:8 "Cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning; For in thee do I trust: Cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; For I lift up my soul unto thee.

9) Deliver me, O Jehovah, from mine enemies: I flee unto thee to hide me. 10) Teach me to do thy will; For thou art my God: Thy Spirit is good; Lead me in the land of uprightness. 11) Quicken me, O Jehovah, for thy name's sake: In thy righteousness bring my soul out of trouble. 12) And in thy lovingkindness cut off mine enemies, And destroy all them that afflict my soul; For I am thy servant."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page