top of page

Repost on Quilts

Personal note here: this is a repost from May 30, 2018, which is why it has a reference to 'more than a barbecue'. We had a barbecue this year as well, but the idea is to repost the quilt instructions.

When we have a three day weekend it messes with my mind and the rest of the week as well. I worked diligently Saturday to get the quilt out of the quilt frame. Our living room is a decent size, but if we're having something going on it doesn't allow for the quilt frame and the goings on to go on together...

Here are pictures of getting the quilt in the frame. It's like a sandwich. First the bottom layer, which is called the quilt bottom, is pinned then basted into the frame.

The layer here is the batting. I purchased the batting at a local Alco store several years ago. I brought it with me when we moved here in 2004.

This is a 90x108. My quilt was shorter than that, and I cut off about a foot on one side and a few inches off of the other side. I will use that which I've cut off in some other project at another time.

Here you can see the bag that the batting came in. I rolled the cut off portion up and put it away. Here also is my cloth scissors, pin cushion, and thimble. I have several thimbles, but could only find the one so large I have to put masking tape in it so it will stay on my finger.

This shows the layers. The plaid bottom which is basted in. The batting that has been smoothed into place. At times I use a large flat yard stick to smooth the batting from center to sides. I suppose a long handled broom would work to smooth it out as well. The quilt top (denim) I will stretch, pin, and baste into place as well.

When it is all in place I will choose yarn to 'tie' it with.

I have used a pink yarn and gone through the edge squares clear around the outside of the quilt. Before Old Mr. Fuzzy and I were married I purchased a package of needles from a local 5 and dime store. In the package was an upholstery needle. Instead of a long straight needle this one is a large half circle needle.

It works great for these quilts. In this picture I have cut in between the corners and tied the yarn. Since it is somewhat late, and this is a wee bit long, I'll sign off now. I plan on making a few more posts about the quilt yet this week. So, Lord willing I'll put up some more tomorrow. Thank you for joining the conversation, and have a good night.

Proverbs 24:17 "Rejoice not when thine enemy falleth, and let not thine heart be glad when he stumbleth: 18) Lest the LORD see it, and it displease him, and he turn away his wrath from him."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page