top of page

Important To Me


What is important? My sister and I married our first husband(s) and we stayed with them. As my sister said on more than one occasion, "When I get on my high-horse, I remember Mom, and I come down off of that horse real fast".

Or as a famous actress was credited as saying about her many marriages compared to another actress who only married once: "Darling, there is nothing hard about attracting a husband. The real award should go to the woman who can keep one man happy".

Keeping someone happy? Is that what makes a successful marriage? Is that the important link? Our mother was married and divorced four times. So, she wasn't our example. I asked God to bless me with a Christian husband, and I'm sure that was a deciding block in our marriage, but my sister and her husband?

I think there was still something in both of us that believed in the long haul. However, honestly it takes two committed partners to remain in a marriage. Most of us know of instances where one person decides they 'fell out of love'. Or sometimes there is no reason they just walk away, leaving the other person to wonder why.

What was important to me was following where God led. We had made a commitment between ourselves and God. I've been asked on several occasions how and why we have done the things we have done. It hasn't always been easy. I know a number of women who believe that preachers are perfect. I assure you, they are not. And neither are preacher's wives.

At one point between my aha moment and my sister's high horse advice, I decided "The time I look in the mirror and see that I'm perfect is the time I can expect perfection."

"That's Important to Me" Joey and Rory Feeks:

"But now abideth faith, hope, love, these three; and the greatest of these is love." (1 Corinthians 13:13 ASV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page