top of page

More Than Tomorrow


What do you want today? I was told a number of years ago an interesting fact.

It had to do with, if I remember correctly, with ph levels. I was told that the human body must remain at a certain ph level.

I asked, "But what if the body can't maintain that level?" "No, no," I was told, "your body will trade all of it's tomorrows for today. It must maintain that ph level.

I was shocked. That means my body, and your body as well, is two people in some way.

At one time in the not so long ago I would have chores I needed to do. Often I would head out to the garden even though I was having difficulty with my right leg muscles.

I would flippantly say, "When my left leg goes my right leg must follow." That seemed correct, but...

In one of James Michener's books someone mentioned 'seeing the elephant'. At times we come up against the elephant.

The gist of that saying is to 'learn a hard lesson'; to turn back.

At one point the right leg did follow the left, but farther down the line it didn't. At some point my body decided it would do something different than what my head decided to do.

Perhaps if I had come to this knowledge earlier it may have made a difference. Maybe not. When a person is younger they think they know something.

Like many of my readers I've always been a goal oriented person. Make my list then get it done. And the list was always long.

I recently watched a show in which young parents were told, 'This time goes by so quickly. Slow down and enjoy your baby.'

All of life is like that, and that advice is good for everyone. Slow down, savor the moments, and it isn't too late as long as there is life and breath.

The point is, don't trade today for unknown tomorrows.

"No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon. Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?" (Matthew 6:24-25 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page