top of page

Up Date


I'm very glad I don't have to use a typewriter like this one.

I have vague memories of using one like this. I have a bit more clear memories of electric ones, but the computer is so much easier.

No Wite Out, no correction tape, no such nonsense. I can move sentences, paragraphs, all sorts of things on the computer in less time than I could type a letter on the old type writers.

What's going on in writer-land? Despite a number of setbacks we have continued to persevere toward the goal of publication for my mystery/detective novel, "If I Should Die".

When I began this journey I had planned to seek a traditional publisher. Then I waffled back and forth as I learned that with a traditional publisher they have editors who change your original novel to fit their wants.

With a traditional publisher, even as the writer you have very little control over the final product. So, I leaned more and more toward self-publishing.

Success, however, in self-publishing goes with lots of extra work and expense. The writer has to hire the editor, or more than one editor, accept or reject ideas the editor gives you. Extra work you never dreamed of, but it is important to write, re-write, polish and polish.

So, I searched for and hired editors, and dropped a few editors, combed through the original manuscript, accepted some changes, rejected others, complained and muttered through many suggestions all the way to the Beta readers.

Beta readers are the guinea pigs for writers. In my case they mostly read what I deemed as a finished product. In going through all the preliminary work sentences get written and rewritten. Punctuation gets moved, or sometimes left out, etcetera.

Beta readers keep an eye out for discrepancies, look for glitches in characters, and make sure it makes sense and plot flows—to a reader not an editor.

I am now past all of that, have purchased my ISBN numbers, the cover artist has done the cover, and Big Fuzzy is working at formatting both an e-book and a print book.

The last thing we will do before it becomes available is the promotion. We will work on promotion hopefully in May and hopefully publish in June.

God willing that is our proposed schedule. It is probable somewhere in this fracas I will be changing to a different website, so keep this in mind and be watching for the change.

"The burden of Dumah. He calleth to me out of Seir, Watchman, what of the night? Watchman, what of the night? The watchman said, The morning cometh, and also the night: if ye will enquire, enquire ye: return, come." (Isaiah 21:11-12 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page