top of page

Perceptions


When I was quite a bit younger an older friend shared how when she was first added to the church she saw older Christians who looked like they had their lives all under control.

It wasn't until she became friends with these folks that she realized no one had everything under control.

Everyone had their problems, their ups and downs and whatnots. My friend even decided when she came to know what some of the other people were dealing with, that she would keep her problems and let them keep theirs.

Today I asked the chiropractor, 'Will I ever be well?' To which he said, 'You are well.' Internally my reaction was, 'excuse me?'

Through my mind rolls several thoughts, such as, my whole body hurts and I have random pain spasms in different areas. My hands are numb, but often feel as if they're on fire, or some such indefinable pain.

But no one would see that. Like when another doctor was trying to tell me 'when you go into the grocery store, stop and do a blood pressure check'.

Funny I haven't been able to do grocery shopping for quite some time. Shopping at all doesn't happen.

What happens is we don't stop to think who we are talking to, or pay attention to them or their situation.

It's easy enough to do. What we are capable of doing in our daily lives we think everyone is able to do. Sitting, standing, walking, cooking, shopping... normal every day activities, right? Not for everyone.

As one person who suffers from Lyme disease put it, "Because I look normal to friends and family they don't understand why I'm not able to do what they are. I try to explain I don't have the energy, or I don't feel good, but after a time they just stop coming to visit. I'm no longer part of their lives."

"But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity. Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me." (Philippians 4:10-13 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page