top of page

Raising


Lately I've been part of discussions on raising children and raising children to be not just adults but to be responsible adults.

For example, and why this made the news I'm not sure, but a preacher stopped his sermon to ask that a parent with a disruptive child be ushered out.

That's all we were really told, but people weighed in on many different sides. Here were my parameters: A church without children is a dying church and Jesus himself said,"But Jesus said, Suffer little children, and forbid them not, to come unto me: for of such is the kingdom of heaven." (Matthew 19:14 KJV)

But no preacher or audience ought to have to speak up and over or try to hear over a screaming child/children for an extended period of time.

Because it is important to bring our babes and teach them, first to sit, and sit quiet, and to some day be adult enough to listen and appreciate. The goal is a far off prize that we strive for, we take little steps between here and there.

All people start out as little people and day by day grow. I too have had small babes in church, but I could also figure out without being told when that child needed a 'back room' break. When they 'remembered' their manners we would come back in.

We started learning at home as soon as they were born. Knowing that I would want them to sit through church services between certain times, daily during those times at home, I would read to them, and or breastfeed them during those times.

It didn't take long for them to learn to sit quietly. I've been told by 'experts' it isn't possible for young children to sit moderately quiet during a church service, however, not just me but other parents before me have done so.

I haven't shared a hymn for sometime, but here's one for today: God on the Mountain

"The rod and reproof give wisdom: but a child left to himself bringeth his mother to shame." (Proverbs 29:15 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page