top of page

Past Eighteen


Well, we are supposed to 'grow up', and most of us at least grow older.

As I grew older, I didn't find many job applications for 'riding the range', and looking for something sustainable became the real goal.

I could have stayed with my mother, but after being mentally abused for the last year and a half of high school, I wanted to go 'home'.

Home for me was of course, my Grandparent's farm, but I'd burnt that bridge as far as staying at the farm by being a rebellious teenager. Back home, my Aunt helped me find a job (waitressing) and, since I didn't have a car nor did I drive, a sleeping room in a local small town.

Life did become complicated. I was seventeen when I graduated high school, and reality has a way of seeping in, even to people with ideas of 'doing it my way'.

I've grown to dislike that song. "I did it my way" has been a funeral song for many in my last number of years. That's just the devil playing with people.

When I hear people lustily singing that song at a funeral I get an image of the deceased sitting like the rich man in torment wishing they could do it over —God's way.

For most of us out here in the cheap seats our decisions are not a 'moral' choice, but every decision in which we include God's advice on will be a better decision.

There I was, 17/18 earning $40. a week and not sure where I was going. I asked the Lord, not for a specific man (boy) just a christian, and God brought into my life a young—Old Fuzzy who was willing to study the scriptures AND obey them.

My class of '70 had it's dreams just like most classes every year have their dreams. Here's one of my enjoyable songs from the Statler Brothers: The Class of '57 had it's Dreams...

"Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof: and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit. Be not hasty in thy spirit to be angry: for anger resteth in the bosom of fools. Say not thou, What is the cause that the former days were better than these? for thou dost not enquire wisely concerning this." (Ecclesiastes 7:8-10 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page