top of page

Fathers...


There was an advertisement for a forthcoming movie 'An adult version of Mr. Roger's Neighborhood'.

It told how Mr. Rogers' goal in life was his ministry to others, and how he saw in his life how to help others in their journey.

When my son Nathan and I were stuck in the hospital he so enjoyed that show that we watched it every day. Mr. Rogers was always so gentle.

Medical history for my family is few and far between. In my mother's family people stayed away from doctors. I don't know anything about my father's family since my parents were divorced when I was 3 months old.

I explained that to a doctor and she promptly asked me how that made me feel. I was rather surprised and told her it didn't make me feel anything.

Of course I had my grandparents, and briefly a stepfather, but I just accepted things the way they were.

Having written that, I think most kids do accept things the way they are, but in looking back as well as looking around at society today, it is probably an art of survival.

For a time fathers were said to be 'not necessary'. Now there are a whole host of things the experts tell us we need fathers for. Both boys and girls don't develop right without fathers.

Mothers and fathers are necessary in a family. I believe this is one reason we are having so many children who don't know 'who' they are.

Being raised in a single parent home they have only one or the other —male or female to pattern after. God didn't intend for this to be the normal.

As Mr. Rogers is quoted as saying, all people need to know they are precious.

And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. (Ephesians 6:4 KJV)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page