top of page

A Friend


She was telling about the time her husband and she were traveling with another couple. As usually happens in airports, they were running for a connecting flight.

"My husband being tall and long-legged left us in the dust, but my friend and I were running as fast as we could. I was in front of her and made it to the ticket counter first.

I'm panting as I stand there telling the ticket agent, 'I have a friend...that's all I could repeat, I have a friend.' Finally the agent asks me, 'That's nice. I'm glad you have a friend..."

Hopefully, when her hubby had gotten there he remembered 'I have a wife', but she didn't share that portion.

Traveling can be a challenge in our modern era, but journeys have always been like that. On occasion I reflect on how quickly we can get from point A to point B.

In centuries past a good day's travel would be in the twenty mile range. Of course, in our time the sky is literally the limit.

Finding a friend is the same challenge as it has always been. We probably all have had friends that disappeared faster than the Prodigal's fair weather partners.

But when you find a good friend—that is priceless. A good friend, just as a good wife, is a blessing from God.

Back in the early days of this country even people who weren't religious per se read their Bible and often attended church.

That would be like 'Pearls in a swine's mouth', but, we have lost much when as a society we stopped reading Bible scriptures. Consider these 'Proverbs' from the book of Proverbs:

Proverbs 27:14 "He that blesseth his friend with a loud voice, rising early in the morning, It shall be counted a curse to him. (Do not wake your 'friend' up early in the morning.)

Proverbs 27:15 "A continual dropping in a very rainy day And a contentious woman are alike: 16) He that would restrain her restraineth the wind; And his right hand encountereth oil. (Since 'women's lib' has become so popular, you can tell a man to sit down, stand up, turn around and get up, but you can't tell a woman nothing...)

Proverbs 27:17 "Iron sharpeneth iron; So a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend."

Proverbs 19:13 "A foolish son is the calamity of his father: and the contentions of a wife are a continual dropping. 14) House and riches are the inheritance of fathers: and a prudent wife is from the LORD."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page