top of page

A Rose


"You can never have too many Roses."

That Sunday morning we had two women in attendance for worship that were named Rose.

And whether people or the flower, I've never had too many Roses. Our state flower is the 'wild rose'. They only bloom for a short while, and I see them mostly along the side of the road, as on the shoulder of the road.

If you pick them they last a very short time. They have a very sweet rose smell and there are lots of thorns.

The wild rose is both really fragile and very tenacious. As I wrote above, they have a short blooming cycle and you won't notice them otherwise. If picked they are short lived, but they'll be back the next year.

There are many varieties of roses and there are just as many growers of roses. Some people baby their roses and have very fine results. Sadly, I have six

rose bushes, four of which are doing alright. The other two are languishing.

I think two winters ago it must have gotten too cold and they died back too far. Now they no longer bloom—leaves but no flowers.

Well, this morning is Labor Day Holiday. Old Fuzzy is celebrating this holiday by letting some family come help split wood. Yes, I'm laughing here.

A couple of years ago Old Fuzzy decided to make a log splitter. I don't know what we had on hand but he's innovative and with some finagling he got it done.

So, it is rather fun for a bit to watch and what not. However, I would think it could be like my cousin Coco and churning butter. She told me how fun it was, but after we switched and it was my churn turn she disappeared.

Although working with wood there is fresh air and exercise, more than one person working at a time, so you have a bit of camaraderie and perhaps there could be a bit of competition.

1 Thessalonians 4:11 "And that ye study to be quiet, and to do your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you; 12) That ye may walk honestly toward them that are without, and that ye may have lack of nothing."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page