top of page

Summer is Past


There is a certain je ne sais quoi about autumn. The summer heat is waning, the nights are turning cool, the humidity is becoming a bad memory, and...

The smells and colors are vivid and vibrant. I want to soak it in and stay here for days without end.

Harvest is happening in the garden, and like a hound dog rolling in the leaves it just is.

We're off to therapy for Old Fuzzy today, and doubling up we'll have to get 'supplies' for our Labor Day cook out next week.

We can have an unplanned cookout, however, the ones we plan are more. Usually more work, but worth the time and effort.

We try to have brats, chicken, ham or hamburgers, hot dogs—several years ago I was describing to my sister what we'd had for Thanksgiving/Christmas dinner. Instead of a substantive meal I was listing our desserts.

She said to me, 'Didn't you have anything besides desserts?' Well, of course we did, but I like desserts and they will change with the meals. Thanksgiving we always have turkey and ham, and many sides are the same, dressing, mashed potatoes, cranberries, etc. But desserts? We have some really really good desserts.

Life is like a smorgasbord. You can go along picking and choosing things that look good, and unless you have had previous experience you may get something good, or just something that looked good.

Each day is an adventure,choose wisely, enjoy the desserts. Do right, and let it rest in the Lord's hands.

Acts 2:26 "Therefore did my heart rejoice, and my tongue was glad; moreover also my flesh shall rest in hope: 27) Because thou wilt not leave my soul in hell, neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption. 28) Thou hast made known to me the ways of life; thou shalt make me full of joy with thy countenance."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page