top of page

What's In Your Heart


A fly on the wall. It would have been worth the look on both of our faces to be that fly on the wall.

What happened was, a few years back I received a couple of freebie gifts from our bank—a pretty pale green mug and an umbrella were among them.

After Young Fuzzy and I returned home from grocery shopping and our banking business I was beginning supper.

I'm standing at the counter between the kitchen and dining room facing toward the dining room, and working up vegetables.

Young Fuzzy is looking through our freebie 'presents' from the bank and...

"Hey, mom," he says, "Look at this..." he's discovered that with a push of a little button at the bottom of the umbrella the top will slide up and pop open. And how neat is that? Except this time it slides up, and ...

It keeps on going, flying across the few feet between us it runs out of steam as it smacks into my shoulder and falls to the floor.

His eyes get huge and he says, 'I'm so sorry.' and I don't know what I looked like, but it had to be funny.

My first reaction was indignation, then, as I realized there was no way he would know that was going to happen, and then I realized the real gift I had there.

I have used that umbrella to entertain people on a number of occasions, and I always call it, 'Grandma's Magic Umbrella'. And we laugh.

All except the people at the bank.

On my next visit to the bank, I was laughing as I told them about our escapade. About my Magic Umbrella, which they had inadvertently gifted me with, but they didn't find it near as funny as I did. Funny that.

I've read, and I know it is true, it isn't during the good times that we find out who our loyal friends are, it's during the bad times.

I believe one of the reasons my family is so close is because we've weathered some pretty rough times together.

We've laughed, and cried together. Seen each other at our worst, and we're hopeful we'll see each other at our best. Next to a lasting faith in God, my family is certainly my biggest treasure.

Jesus said: Matthew 12:35 "A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page