top of page

What You Need


Often, what we want is not what we really need.

I've read if a person lists daily only three things they are thankful for it changes their attitude for the better.

"Well, that's just great. Thank you," I mutter too loud.

"You're not really thankful for that.." Old Fuzzy tells me what he thinks about my comment.

"You're right, but I keep thinking if I pretend I'm thankful for it, someday I may be more thankful for it."

I started that experiment years ago, and I'm sorry to say, it hasn't worked out well for me—but I'm still trying.

I have mellowed, and I have developed an attitude, and those qualities don't sound right together. And at any given minute either one may show up.

I try to be pleasant and diffuse situations. But at some point when a person realizes being pleasant isn't going to be the solution, I'm quite capable of reanalyzing the situation for a new solution.

A guiding hand and a guiding principle in life is: In a world in which you can be anything, Be kind.

Even with rude people, sometimes a soft answer turns away wrath. But a second meme comes to mind: Never mistake my silence for ignorance, My calmness for acceptance, And my kindness for weakness.

In life we do sometimes get a second chance. If we goof up we can pick ourselves up and try again.

As a child playing baseball we sometimes got a do-over, or in playing a board game if something interfered with our roll of the dice we might get a do-over.

The difficult part is setting aside emotions and looking for the right path, looking for what we need, not what we want.

Proverbs 14:10 "The heart knoweth his own bitterness; and a stranger doth not intermeddle with his joy. 11) The house of the wicked shall be overthrown: but the tabernacle of the upright shall flourish. 12) There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death. 13) Even in laughter the heart is sorrowful; and the end of that mirth is heaviness."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page