top of page

Knock Knock...


Knock, knock.

Who's there?

Cargo

Cargo who?

Car go beep,beep.

That's always funny to me, not because it's funny so much, as it's one of the first knock knock jokes I remember.

It's familiar. Familiar can be comforting.

"So what are you doing out there?" Adorable says to me.

"I'm just laying back in my nice new chair that Old Fuzzy bought me."

"Oh, and is it a lift chair?"

"It is. Now Old Fuzzy can have his chair back, and..."

Oddly enough, as a person gets older there are a number of comforting things you find along your way.

On doctor's forms they always want to know if you work, where you work, if you plan on working forever, and...

I don't plan on 'retiring', but at my age I can circle that retire option, and I don't have to tell them nothing.

Life isn't supposed to be as complicated as we make it. Or maybe it was, but today it isn't.

We watched a detective show lately where two of the characters were captured, held for weeks as prisoners, were beaten, starved, and escaped/were rescued.

The main character was being psyche evaluated and his shrink observed that she had not seen him so—mellow would be the word I'd choose. I don't remember her word.

His response? He said, 'I really thought we weren't going to make it out. I thought that was our last (hurrah?). Now that I'm back home I just want to savor... (life? what I have?)'.

Savor is the word for today...and for a lifetime. My grandparents were simple people. Old Fuzzy's family were simple folk as well.

They were from the generation that worked hard, tried to keep their lives right, and do right. It was a generation in which family, friends, neighbors and keeping God's commands were important.

Sunday amongst the general population, for instance, was church in the morning, and often go visit your neighbor in the afternoon.

Now-a-days people are wrapped up in themselves. They don't know how to savor, because to savor means an attitude of gratitude. It means it isn't all about me.

Psalms 34:8 "O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him. 9) O fear the LORD, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him. 10) The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the LORD shall not want any good thing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page