top of page

A Day in the Life


This happened one year during my childhood. My cousin, Coco, and I felt betrayed. The forest we hunted gooseberries in, played in, and generally ran a muck in seemed to have turned into a science fiction story that we didn't like at all.

I'm reminded of this every year when at this time of the year the locusts begin to sing. It wasn't just that there were a few gentle locusts calling. No, it was the year of the seventeen year locusts and these creatures with their orange eyes and wings flew everywhere, leaving their ugly brown skin behind.

I'm also reminded of my Grandfather's words 'autumn begins 6 weeks after the first locusts begin to sing'.

That year was different, and I don't know how accurate that is, but I always think of these things with the first songs of the locusts.

Job 38:1 "Then the LORD answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said, 2) Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge? 3) Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me. 4) Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding. 5) Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it? 6) Whereupon are the foundations thereof fastened? or who laid the corner stone thereof; 7) When the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page