top of page

I Can Wash That...


There are a lot of things we acquire that are non-necessities. Dish washers are one of those items. After a few years of being included in our collections of household things, like a clothes washer and drier, they become 'necessities'.

Old Fuzzy and I hadn't been married more than two years when we acquired a dish washer.

It seemed logical when we were blessed with our second child within the first two years. What older people, those who had been through the depression, WWII, and beyond, thought we can only guess.

Each generation is like that. Generations that grow up with clothes washers and driers in their parents homes assume they will have them in their homes as well.

The parents themselves may have waited and saved for years before they bought their own, but their children don't remember that part.

When we were first married I used the wringer washer we were blessed with. It was very water friendly, but time saver it was not. We had running water, hot and cold. I just filled the wringer machine with hot water from the hose (garden type hose in our basement), added my laundry soap and voila'.

Here's a link to a post about wash day with pictures and descriptions of wash day and the wringer machine on my other blog. My wringer machine is round instead of square like the picture, and I had two rinse tubs.

Ah, back to dishwasher, I haven't always had or used, a dishwasher. When I did, I would only run the appliance once a day, and with a large family that meant it was possible to run out of a certain dish before the washer was run.

So, being frugal with space in my dishwasher, as well as 'washing the really important stuff', I would get to a point where my thought process would come down to, I can wash that.

That meant the item took up too much room, but in later years I came to two conclusions: Me to self, "You know you can run this more than once a day if you have that much stuff. And second, Idjit, sure, you could wash it. You could wash everything in here if you needed to...just throw it in."

Ephesians 4:15 "But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ: 16) From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page